* Dolito *

Her ability is a gift to all people and animals

Guan-yin is ‘everywhere’

on July 7, 2012

https://i0.wp.com/www.amaranthpublishing.com/GuanYin25.jpg

Most of the time I find it hard to translate something religious because Eastern culture is just so different from Western one. But there are a lot of stories that deserve to be shared, that are touching and impressive, so I’m gonna try it anyway.

Among all Gods and Goddesses in Eastern culture, I believe Guan-yin is comparatively well-known to westerners. Guan-yin has the image of a kind and graceful woman. She is also called ‘Bodhisattvas‘ and both Buddhism and Taoism have her appearance.

In Taiwan, it’s very common to have a Guan-yin figure at home so we can pray to her without going to temples. So we can also say that Guan-yin is like our ‘guardian goddess.’ And Guan-yin follows and protects everyone that prays to her.

Below is the translation of Miss Li’s blog. I stands for Miss Li.

One day when I was standing in the line, waiting to purchase the high speed rail ticket, there was a woman standing right in front of me, with Guan-yin by her side. Guan-yin said to me, “Would you mind telling her that she has to keep reciting mantra? She can’t stop. She has to keep doing it and dedicate it to her daughter to get her back!”

I don’t really like to do this. That’s a stranger and she might think I’m some kind of fraud and ignore or reject me. But I know I have to tell her. So I tapped her on the shoulder and told her what Guan-yin asked me to say. I did it very fast because I was afraid she’d turn me down or something.

When I finished, she was like totally frightened and couldn’t utter a word. She just looked at me for a good while.

Finally she came to herself and asked me, “Which Guan-yin are you talking about?” (Is she from the temple or her house or elsewhere?)

I said, “From your house, of course.”

She still didn’t know how to react, and it was her turn to purchase the ticket. She said to me, “Can I buy the ticket for you? Where are you heading for? I’ll pay as a thank-you gift.”

I smiled and shook my head. “No, thanks. You should go home and thank Guan-yin.”

The woman nodded and said, “I see. I’ll keep reciting mantra till my daughter’s back. It’s been two years since she ran away from home.”

Keep praying and reciting mantra, I believe your daughter will come back!

June 29, 2012

Click here to see this story in Chinese. :)

If you like our blog, you can either press the ‘like’ button or share it with your friends, or follow us; or maybe all of the above. It won’t take time. We’ll appreciate it! ♥

3 responses to “Guan-yin is ‘everywhere’

  1. What a moving post and what a beautiful illustration!

    • dolitotaiwan says:

      Thank you! Guan-yin is like a symbol of a kind mother of all people so she really is beautiful and just to look at her illustration can warm our hearts up. And she, just like all the other Gods and Goddesses, really has a big heart.

  2. […] we talked, Guan-yin came and said, “She has been thinking about being a volunteer. She once prayed to God and […]

Leave a Reply

